Skip to Content

Published on June 15, 2020

2020 Rutland Area
Medical Community Scholarships Awarded

Members of the Rutland Area Medical Community recently awarded six $1,250 scholarships to local students pursuing a career in healthcare. The scholarship program has been made possible through the generosity of Rutland area physicians, retired physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners.

The Rutland Area Medical Community scholarship is intended to stimulate the region’s best and brightest students, encouraging them to continue their education in the field of healthcare. The scholarship awards will create opportunities that empower recipients to achieve excellence in education. Eligible candidates include high school seniors, local college students, or Rutland area medical community employees who are working toward furthering their goal of a career in healthcare.

In 2020, the volunteer scholarship review committee awarded six scholarships based on the outstanding applications received. This year’s recipients include graduating high school seniors, Austin Bruno of Bomoseen (Fair Haven Union High School); Lauren Calvin of Rutland (Rutland High School); Benjamin Pencak of Rutland (Mount Saint Joseph Academy); Castleton University students, Jacob Henderson of Rutland; and Caitlin King of Rutland. King is also employed by Rutland Regional Medical Center and Geneva Carpenter of Rutland, a student at Southern New Hampshire University, and an employee of Rutland Regional Medical Center.

In its fourth year, the scholarship program received an overwhelming response from a wide variety of qualified candidates across the region, despite the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on colleges, universities, and local high schools. “The Rutland Area Medical Community scholarship program has been a positive constant in a sea of unprecedented changes this spring,” said Dr. Stanley Shapiro, Chair of the Rutland Area Medical Community Scholarship Committee. “It was very gratifying to receive so many qualified applications from very deserving students across our local region once again this year. It continues to be a very meaningful process for all who have been involved.

The volunteer members of the Rutland Area Medical Community Scholarship Committee are Chair, Stanley Shapiro, MD, FACC, FASNC; Sarah Bache, APRN; Brad Berryhill, MD; Audrey Dudzik, MD; Dan Mitchell, MD; Vic Pisanelli, MD, FACS; and Matt Zmurko, MD.

Learn more about the Rutland Area Medical Community Scholarship>>>

About Rutland Regional Medical Center

Rutland Regional Medical Center, founded in 1896, is the largest community hospital and the second largest healthcare facility in Vermont. With a strong patient focus, consistent quality performance, nursing excellence and award-winning care, Rutland Regional remains dedicated to improving the health of families and individuals throughout Rutland County and beyond.


Media Contact: Gerianne Smart, 802.747.1608 or

RUTLAND REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER160 Allen Street, Rutland, VT 05701802.775.7111

© 2021 Rutland Medical Center